LEFT HAND SIDE
MUSIC TO LIVE BY

Original Versions

As its my first post in quite a while I thought I’d something alittle different. Instead of putting up some cover version I have decided to put up original tracks that aren’t quite as well known as the covers.

First up we have Yellow Magic Orchestra with “Behind The Mask”. Taken from their 1979 album “Solid State Survivor” it was later covered, with some added lyrics, by Eric Clapton, something I always find rather bizarre.
YSI     rapidshare

Next up we have mr car insurance himself, Iggy Pop. “China Girl”  was originally recorded by Iggy on his classic 1977  album, “The Idiot”. Written by himself and David Bowie, it became  a hit in 1983 when Bowie recorded it for his “Let’s Dance” album.  Bowie recorded it to help out a then almost bankrupt  Iggy, Pop getting half the royalties.
YSI      rapidshare

Eddy Grant with “Walking On Sunshine”. Recorded by grant in 1979 on the album of the same name, which also includes the hit “Living on The Front Line”. The track was later covered by Rockers Revenge aka Arthur Baker, and was a big dance hit.
YSI     rapidshare

 The Valentine Brothers were two brothers from Ohio who released the single “Moneys Too Tight To Mention” in 1982. Afew years later in 1985, Simply Red released a cover of the track as their first single release.
YSI     rapidshare

And finally we have the classic house track, “It’s Alright” by Sterling Void & Paris Brightledge. Originally released on 12″ single in 1987, it was massive underground club hit. It went on to be a big pop hit in 1989 for the Pet Shop Boys.
YSI     rapidshare

4 Responses to “Original Versions”

  1. I’m a big fan of Iggy’s version of “China Girl.” And I couldn’t help but think Katrina and the Waves when I saw “Walking on Sunshine”.

  2. Bless you! I have been looking for this record, MP3, whatever, forever!

  3. I mean the Valentine Brothers, I was overcome by joy!
    Have loved it since I heard it on Detroit funk radio nearly 30!!!!!!! years ago.

  4. please repost! links expired. (and let me know)


Leave a Reply

